Mirror Image

Before I reflect on my writing like I was planning, and on the subject of mirrors, I realised that I am actually quite self-conscious.

What prompted my little discovery, you ask? Well, I let my friend cut my hair.

I know, it sounds like the start of a bad joke. 

I did laugh actually, when it happened. You see, I let her dye my hair and I was feeling quite relaxed so I said she could go ahead with the masterpiece she had in mind and cut my hair.

She gets to my fringe and – chop! Off it goes. So I have little baby hairs in the front of my head. It’s not really a fringe, it’s just… there, it’s that short.

I looked like an 80s rocker. So attractive, as you can imagine. Anyway, I woke up and mum whisked me off to the hairdressers so now I have short boy hair… I like short boy hair, on other people that can pull it off. I’m not one of them.

My family assure me it suits me but I would still feel more comfortable with something covering my forehead. I don’t know why exactly. It’s not like my forehead is private but for some reason showing it feels similar to wearing short shorts or a bikini.

I could walk around with my hand on forehead. I’m sure that’d work.

Now perhaps I’m not self-conscious – I think even the most confident person would feel a little awkward if they got a bit of a shear but I don’t like not feeling comfortable in my own skin. 

It’s… uncomfortable.

Anyway, moving on from that, I’ll go back to my main point.

I realised a while ago that many of my characters are paragons of virtue, they fight evil, they’re self-sacrificing – the kind of people who act as the heroes in fairy tales. This isn’t a problem, per say, but I want my characters to be relatable. I want them to be people that screw up so when you’re reading you can be like, I get that. I get where they’re coming from.

Saints are respected but I don’t know many people that say, “Oh, I want to be just like him when I grow up and die in place of this guy because he deserves to live (apparently more than I do)”.

I mean, they’re crazy people, completely amazing, but crazy. I’ll be the first to admit that while I try to put others first, there are times when I can’t help but push them aside for myself.

So I’ve been trying to give my characters vices. Real vices that real people have. 

I have had to make my characters make mistakes and be real dicks sometimes. I don’t like it.

But isn’t that the kind of character you’re attracted to? 

Imma’ be honest and say if I’m reading a romance, I’m usually attracted to the funny, sarcastic, witty best-friend that gets rejected for the serious, moody stranger. 

What about you, what sort of characters do you swoon for?

Image

Love me? 

 

Leave a Reply

